Texas Folklore Society



Return to Meeting List

Eighty-Fourth Annual Meeting

The Eighty-Fourth Annual Meeting was held April 20-22, 2000 in Nacogdoches, Texas at the Hotel Fredonia

All sessions were held in Convention Center B, Fredonia Hotel.

Program of Eighty-Fourth Annual Meeting

Thursday, April 20, 2000

2:00-7:00 p.m., Registration, Foyer, Fredonia Hotel, Nacogdoches
8:00 p.m., Hootenanny, Banita Ballroom

Friday, April 21

8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m., Registration, Foyer, Fredonia Hotel, Nacogdoches

  • Session 1: 8:30 - 10:00 a.m. 
    Francis B. Vick (Dallas), Chair
    Welcome: TFS President-Mary Harris (Hobbs, NM)
    Lucy Fischer West (El Paso), "Folklore by Osmosis: Three Decades with John O."
    Thad Sitton (Austin), "Now You Hear My Horn: Uses of the Blowing Horn in the Southern Big Woods Lifeway"
    Larry Warburton (Alice), "Violence in the Diamond of Texas"

  • Session 2: 10:30 - 12:00 noon 
    Rollo Newsom (San Marcos), Chair
    Archie P. McDonald (Nacogdoches), "The Making of a Househusband"
    Linda Majors Clark (Georgetown), "Grampa's Passion: Baseball"
    Dallas Cothrum (Tyler), "Just Pain Mean: Louis T. Wigfall"

    12:00 noon, Officers Luncheon, Angelina Room

  • Session 3: 1:30 - 3:00 p.m. 
    Phyllis Bridges (Denton), Chair
    Jerry Turner (Mt. Calm), "The Great Imposter Comes to Texas"
    Becky Matthews (San Antonio), "E-lore, or Even if You Don't Read This Please Forward it to Everyone You Know"
    Ty Cashion (Huntsville), "Seeing Red over Varsity Blues"

  • Session 4: 3:30 - 5:00 p.m. 
    Peggy A. Redshaw (Sherman), Chair
    James Winfrey (Houston), "The Cottonseed Oil Mill"
    Mary Joe Clendenin (Stephenville), "Joe Fitzgerald, Nurseryman and Philosopher"
    Nita Thurman (Dallas), "Texas Tombstone Inscriptions"

    Cash Bar 6:30 p.m.
    Banquet 7:30 p.m., Convention Center A
    Presiding: Mary Harris (Hobbs, NM)
    Entertainment: East Texas String Ensemble (Nacogdoches) 

    Hootenanny, (following banquet) Convention Center B 

    Saturday, April 22

  • Session 5: 9:00 - 11:30 a.m. 
    Sylvia Mahoney (Vernon), Chair
    Jean Schnitz (Boerne), "New and Recycled Songs about Texas"
    Jack Duncan (McKinney)& Joy J. Burwell (Dayton), "Pioneer Angel: Uncle Gus Wilson"
    Business Meeting
    Presiding: Mary Harris (Hobbs, NM) 
    Ken Untiedt (Lubbock)& Lee Haile (Bandera), "Robert Earl Keen: Texas Folk Traditions in Popular Music"

    Closing Ceremony
    Mary Harris (Hobbs, NM)

  • Mary Harris (Hobbs, NM)

  • Jerry Lincecum (Sherman)

  • F.E. Abernethy (Nacogdoches)

  • Carolyn Satterwhite (Nacogdoches)

  • William Stokes (Dallas)

  • Margaret Waring (Comanche) 2000 
  • R.G. Dean (Nacogdoches) 2000 
  • Rollo K. Newsom (Austin) 2001 
  • Sylvia Mahoney (Vernon) 2002 
  • John Lightfoot (Lake Jackson) 2002 

  • Henry Wolff (Victoria) 2000
  • Tom Breedlove (La Grange) 2002
  • Cynthia Savage (Midland) 2002
  • Jean G. Schnitz (Boerne) 2002
  • Kenneth L. Untiedt (Lubbock) 2002

    To see a list of meetings click here.

Home | About TFS | Join | Members | Contact Us | Site Map


Texas Folklore Society
P.O. Box 13007 - SFASU
Nacogdoches, TX 72962-3007
Ph. 936.468.4407