Texas Folklore Society



Return to Meeting List

Twenty-Second Annual Meeting

The twenty-second annual meeting was held at The University of Texas in Austin,
April 24 and 25, 1936.

Program of Twenty-Second Annual Meeting

  • Program:

    Martha Emmons (Waco) "Negro Wisdom" 

    R.A. Tsanoff (Houston) "Philosophy in Folk-Lore" 

    Dan Storm (Austin) "Tales of los Animalitos" 

    Georgia McMeans (Palestine) "How Wildcat Creek and Wolf Creek, in Anderson County, Got Their Names" 

    Mrs. Raquel Rocha Wauls (Fort Worth) "Mexican Lullabies" 

    R.G. Upton (Nacogdoches) "Sacred Harp Singing in East Texas" 

    Afton Wynn (Austin) "Folk Ways of Pioneer Texans" 

    Adina de Zavala (San Antonio) "Legend of the Treaty Stone of the Indians" 

    Charles L. Sonnichsen (El Paso) "Spooks from El Paso" 

    Jovita Gonzalez de Mireles (Del Rio) "The Cristo of the Cactus" 

    At the evening session of April 24, the Gant family, of Austin, sang popular ballads 

    On the evening of April 25, Esse Forrester O'Brien, of Waco, read original verses employing folk motives. 

    At the dinner on April 25, Mrs. Morgan T. Smith presented some old time Texian sayings, and Trueman O'Quinn talked on "Colloquialisms of the Sabine Bottoms." 

    At the business meeting, the constitution was amended to provide for the office of Associate Editor. 

  • Officers:

  • Martha Emmons (State Home, Waco)

    First Vice-President:
  • John Lee Brooks (Southern Methodist University, Dallas)

    Second Vice-President:
  • Mabel Major (Texas Christian University, Fort Worth)

    Third Vice-President:
  • A.W. Eddins (San Antonio)

    Secretary and Editor:
  • J. Frank Dobie (Austin)

  • Marcelle L. Hamer (Austin)

  • John Green (Houston)
  • Thomas A. Knight (Dallas)
  • David Donoghue (Fort Worth)

  • To see a list of meetings click here.

Home | About TFS | Join | Members | Contact Us | Site Map


Texas Folklore Society
P.O. Box 13007 - SFASU
Nacogdoches, TX 72962-3007
Ph. 936.468.4407