Texas Folklore Society



Return to Meeting List

Eleventh Annual Meeting

The eleventh annual meeting of the Texas Folklore Society was held in the University of Texas YMCA auditorium, 
Saturday afternoon and evening, May 9, 1925.

Program of Eleventh Annual Meeting

  • Afternoon Session:

  • President's Address:

    Mr. Victor J. Smith (Sul Ross State Teacher's College, Alpine) "Some Legends of the Big Bend Country" , 

  • Program:
  • Mrs. A. B. Looscan (Houston) "Unseen Forces in the Battle of San Jacinto" 

    Mrs. Lillie Terrell Shaver (Dallas) "The Legend of the San Marcos" and "The Legend of Tehuacana" 

    Mrs. Mamie Wynne Cox (Dallas) "The Legend of Fort Phantom Hill" 

    Miss Fannie Ralchford (University of Texas) "The First Texas Legend" 

    Dr. R. A. Law (University of Texas) "Folk-Lore Helping Fiction: Some Recent Examples" 

    Colonel M. L. Crimmins (Fort Bliss) "Pictographs and Petroglyphs of the El Paso District" 

    Mr. O. L. Sims (Paint Rock) "Pictographs Near Paint Rock, Texas" 

    Miss Laura V. Hamner (Amarillo) "Folk-Tales of the Kiowa Indians" 

    Mrs. Natalie Taylor Carlisle (Houston) "Old-Time Darkey Plantation Songs" 

    Dr. L. W Payne, Jr. (University of Texas) "A Review of Professor John H. Cox's Folk-Songs of the South, Harvard Press, 1925" 

    Miss Martha Emmons (Taylor) "Folk-Lore of Williamson County" 

  • Business Meeting: Election of officers, etc.

  • Evening Session:

    Mr. J. Frank Dobie (Oklahoma A and M, Stillwater, Oklahoma) "Hunting Treasure Down the Nueces and Out on the Pecos" 

    Dean T. U. Taylor (University of Texas) "Treasure Legends of Shoal Creek, Austin" 

    Miss Louise von Blittersdorf (Austin) "The Little Tree of Mount Bonnell" and "The Crying Woman of the Rio Grande" 

    Miss Bessie League (Austin) "A Legendary Spanish Fort on the San Marcos and Its Treasure" 

    Mrs. Looscan's paper, in her absence, was read by the Secretary.
    Colonel Crimmins was unable to attend but sent a large collection of pictographs for inspection.
    Miss Hammer and Mrs. Cox were absent and their papers were read by title.

    The Texas State Historical Association met on May 8, in conjunction with the
    meeting of the Texas Folk-Lore Society on May 9.

  • Officers:

  • Mr. Victor J. Smith (Sul Ross State Teachers' College, Alpine)

    First Vice-President:
  • Mrs. A. B. Looscan (Houston)

    Second Vice-President:
  • Mr. Oscar J. Fox (San Antonio)

    Third Vice-President: Mrs. W.T. Arnold (Henderson) 

    Recording Secretary and Treasurer: Miss Ethel Burch (University of Texas)

    Secretary and Editor:
  • J. Frank Dobie (Oklahoma A&M, Stillwater, Oklahoma)

  • Dr. L. W. Payne, Jr., (University of Texas)
  • Mrs. Natalie Taylor Carlisle (Houston)
  • Miss Julia Estill (Fredericksburg)

  • To see a list of meetings click here.

Home | About TFS | Join | Members | Contact Us | Site Map


Texas Folklore Society
P.O. Box 13007 - SFASU
Nacogdoches, TX 72962-3007
Ph. 936.468.4407