The Texas Folklore Society is governed by a Board of Directors, which holds a meeting at each annual meeting. Important matters are voted upon by the Board, then presented to the general membership for approval at a business meeting the following day.

To read the most current version of our by-laws, click on the following link: By-Laws of the Texas Folklore Society.



PRESIDENT. . . . . . . . . . Sarana Savage (Midland) 

VICE-PRESIDENT (Program Chair). . . . . Lori Najvar (Austin) 

SECRETARY-EDITOR . . . Kenneth L. Untiedt (Nacogdoches)

TREASURER . . . . . . . . Charlotte Blacksher (Nacogdoches)


  Rollo Newsome (Austin) 2020

Clifton Fifer (Kerrville) 2020

Kay Arnold (Austin) 2021

Chuck Smith (Fort Worth) 2021

Acayla Haile (San Marcos) 2022



Phyllis Bridges (Denton) 2020

Erin Marissa Russell (Denton) 2020

Patrick Vick (Dallas) 2021

Scott Bumgardner (Houston) 2019

        Carol Hanson (Cedar Hill) 2019


Past-President Elaine Davenport (Dripping Springs)

Fran Vick (Dallas)

Ron Chrisman (Denton)



Each year, members honor the dedication and contributions of certain Board members by electing someone to the position of President. A few individuals have served in this position more than once, or for longer than just one year.

For a list of all past TFS Presidents, click here:

Complete list of TFS Presidents.



In over a century, the Texas Folklore Society has awarded its highest honor, that of Fellow, to only fourteen individuals. Each has been instrumental in service and research, as well as bringing new members to the Society and mentoring them.

To see the names of these legendary paisanos, click here:

Fellows of the Texas Folklore Society.


Copyright  2016 Texas Folklore Society

Texas Folklore Society | P.O. Box 13007 - SFASU | Nacogdoches, TX 75962-3007 | 936.468.4407

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software